Accessing and Using Google Drive

Accessing Google Drive

Google Drive allows unlimited storage for files and documents. All files are backed up and synced to any device where you can sign in to your email. 

1. To access your Google Drive, you will need to be signed in to your Webmail.

2. In your email, click on the Picture showing the grid icon in webmail icon in the top right and select the Google Drive icon Picture that shows the Google Drive Icon

Uploading files to Google Drive

1. Within Google Drive, make sure you are in the My Drive in the list on the left side of the screen. 

 2. Select the +New button from the list on the left of the screen.

 3. A list of options will open, select the File Upload option.

A picture showing the file upload option

4. A File Explorer window will open so that you may navigate to files that need to be uploaded.

A picture showing the File Explorer window

5. Navigate to the files you wish to save on the Drive, double click to select or select with one click and click on Open, and the file will be in your Google Drive.

Note: Files can also be dragged over into the Google Drive to upload them. 

Creating Folders Within Google Drive

1. With Google Drive open, right-click within My Drive and select New Folder.

Picture showing the new folder option

2. Name your folder the appropriate title and you will be done. 

Shared Drives

Shared Drives exist alongside your personal drives. Shared drives are owned by a group or organization, rather than a single user. Anyone within a shared drive can view and edit the documents available, depending on their permissions. 

The following are permission options that can be granted within a Shared Drive:

1. Viewer - Can only view documents

2. Commenter - Can view and comment on documents 

3. Contributor - Can view, comment, add files, and edit files

4. Content Manager - Can add, edit, move and delete files

5. Manager - Can manage content, people, and settings

Only the Manager can change other user's permissions. 

A picture showing the permissions options for users within shared drive

Adding Access and Setting Permissions

Note: Requires Manager access

1. On the left, click a shared drive.

2. At the top, under the shared drive name, click Add members.

3. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.

4. (Optional) To change the access level, next to Content manager, click the Down arrow, and choose an access level.

5. (Optional) Enter a message.

6. (Optional) If you don’t want to send a notification to the new members, check the Skip sending notifications box.

7. Click Send or Add

Change Member Access Level

Note: Requires Manager access

1. On the left, click a shared drive.

2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenManage members.

3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and select a new access level.

4. Click Done.

Remove Member Access

Note: Requires Manager Access

1. On the left, click a shared drive.

2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenManage members.

3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and select Remove member.

4. Click Done.

Note: If you remove someone from a shared drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with everyone in your organization by link or through a group.

Move Files 

To move files from My Drive into a shared drive or between shared drives, drag the files into the destination shared drive.

You can move any file you own into a shared drive, whether it’s from another Drive location or from your computer or mobile device.

If you’re not the owner of a file in My Drive, but you have Edit access to the file, you might be able to move that file into a shared drive, if: 

  • Your G Suite admin has enabled this option.
  • The file’s owner is a member of the shared drive where you want to move the file.

Otherwise, you need to ask the owner to move the file into the shared drive.

To move files between shared drives, you need Manager access to the original shared drive and at least Contributor access to the destination shared drive.

Delete Files

Requires at least Content manager access

1. Click the file you want to delete.

2. At the top, click Trash Delete.

3. Click Delete For Everyone.

Note: The file moves to the shared drive's Trash folder. Files in a shared drive's Trash folder are automatically deleted after 30 days.

Restore Files (Up to 30 Days)

1. On the left, click a shared drive.

2. At top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenView trash.

3. Click the fileand thenRestore Restore

Delete a Shared Drive

Requires Manager access

1. Make sure the shared drive is empty.

2. If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash.

3. Right-click the shared drive that you want to deleteand thenclick Delete shared drive.

4. Click Delete Shared Drive to confirm.

Share Files with Individuals or Groups

1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to share.

2. At the top, click Share Share.

3. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.

4. (Optional) To change the permission from Edit, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and choose another permission.

5. (Optional) Add a message.

6. (Optional) If you don't want to send notifications, check the Skip sending notification box.

7. Click Send or Add.

Unshare Files within Your Organization

1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to unshare.

2. Click Share Share.

3. Click Who has access.

4. Next to Link Sharing, click Turn off Turn off.

5. Click Done.

Unshare Files with Individuals

1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to unshare.

2. Click Share Share.

3. Click Who has access.

4. Next to the shared drive, click the Down arrow Down Arrow.

5. Next to the person, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenRemove.

6. Click Done.

NoteGroup settings can override individual settings. So, if you try to unshare a file with a person who belongs to an organization or group with access to the file, this person can still access the file.

Protect All Files in Shared Drive

Requires Manager access

1. On the left, click the shared drive that contains the files you want to protect.

2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenShared drive settings.

3. Click Edit to set any of these permissions:

4. Sharing files with people outside of your organization

5. Sharing files with people in your organization who aren’t members of the shared drive

6. Allowing people with Commenter and Viewer access to download, copy, or print files

7. After you choose an option, click Apply.

8. Click Done.

Prevent People from Downloading, Printing, or Copying a file, 

Requires Manager access

1. Click the file you want to protect.

2. At the top, click Share Share.

3. At the bottom, click Who Has Access.

4. Click More Moreand thencheck the Restrict download, print, & copy actions on this file for commenters and viewers box.

5. Click Done.

Note: You can limit how people share, print, download, and copy within Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, and Slides, but you can't stop how others share the file content in other ways.

See Members of a Shared Drive 

1. From the left side, click a shared drive.

2. Under the shared drive name, click the number of members. 

3. You will be presented with a list of al members within that shared drive.

Email Members of a Shared Drive

1. On the left, click a shared drive.

2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenEmail members.

3. Change the subject and enter your message.

4. (Optional) To only email members with specific access levels, or to send yourself a copy of the email, check the boxes.

5. Click Send.

Note: A link to the shared drive is included in the email.

Details

Article ID: 110415
Created
Thu 6/18/20 1:26 PM
Modified
Thu 6/18/20 2:25 PM